Minutes of The Annual General Meeting of Bio Energy Association of Sri Lanka - 2024

The Bio Energy Association of Sri Lanka held its Annual General Meeting on the 12th July 2024 at the Institution of Engineers and appointed a new Executive Committee to carry forward the activities of the Association with renewed vigor and commitment.

It is well known that the progress seen in the Development of The Bio Energy at the beginning was supported by very some visionary policies and regulations in place by the Sustainable Energy Authority and supported by the CEB. But some unfathomable obstructive decisions by some in authority created a hiatus in such progress since 2016.

However, the dark period of over seven years, is at last over and the path is clear for development of Bio Energy for power generation and the recent events have also brought into focus the renewed interest in use of Bio Mass for thermal energy. It is also important to understand that Bio Energy based power generation has also been provided an attractive feed in tariff under the NCRE Scheme of the SLSEA and updated from 1st July 2024. The fuel switching from fossil fuels to Bio Mass has growing interest driven both by the reduced cost of energy and the green credentials for the export industries which is a distinct marketing advantage.

It is therefore timely for us to reactivate the Bio Energy Association of Sri Lanka to take up an active and vibrant role on all aspects of the Bio Energy Sector for the benefit of our members as well as the country, and assist in the facilitation of development works and in ironing out any barriers that may surface.

The incumbent President Eng Chamil Silva, made a detailed report on the activities carried out even during these dark years. The full report is also uploaded to the web WWW.BIOENERGY SRILANKA.LK

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FOR YEAR 2024

The members appointed to the New Executive Committee are listed below.

Office Bearers

President - Mr.Chamil Silva Vice President - Mr. Nalin de silva Hony Secretary - Mr.Amr Khalid Hony Treasure - N. Nagasinghe

Council Members

- 1) Mr.Humaid Khalid
- 2) Mr.Asanka Perera
- 3) Mr.Mario Seneviratne
- 4) Mr.Lakshan Dayarathna
- 5) Mr.Rasika Rajapakshe
- 6) Mr.Parakrama Jayasinghe

The balance four committee members are to be co -opted by the Exec Committee